Cronin & Galvin back on track in Donegal

The fifth round of the Clonakilty Blackpudding Irish Tarmac Championship, the Joule Donegal International Rally saw the closest finish to any Irish International Rally in history. While Manus Kelly took the overall win in a Subaru Impreza WRC, it was tremendous drive by Keith Cronin and Mikie Galvin who were pipped by just 0.5 seconds after three days and twenty stages of rallying. The Citroen crew led going into the final stage but had to give way in atrocious conditions, although the maximum points haul has brought them right back into contention for the Tarmac Championship as they now lie third. Third overall in Donegal was Sam Moffett who now moves into the joint lead of the series along with Alastair Fisher who lost time over the weekend with a puncture and a visit to the scenery. Fisher eventually finished sixth behind Josh Moffett & Stephen Wright as the top five in the championship are now only separated by six points with two rounds remaining.


Provisional Standings after Round 5:


1st – Alastair Fisher & Sam Moffett   54
3rd – Keith Cronin   49.5
4th – Stephen Wright & Josh Moffett 48


The National Rally saw Frank Kelly take maximum points and his first score of the season while David Armstrong extended his championship advantage over Ross Marshall to four points after five rounds. The Historic Rally saw Seamus O’Connell win the category and take maximum points while Frank Cunningham extended his overall lead from David Goose and Brendan McAree. Kevin Horgan from Cork finished third in the Junior Rally and this gave him maximum points although Justin Ryan and Noel Murphy continue to stay in first and second overall respectively.

A full report will appear on in the coming days.