Glorious Killarney kicks off 2024 Historic Irish Tarmac Championship

The Killarney Historic Rally is set to kickstart the 2024 Sherwood Engines backed Historic Irish Tarmac Rally Championship. Ireland’s premier historic championship is expected to have another top class entry of pristine cars, talented drivers and, well-versed co-drivers.

Historic ITRC’s most recent championship-winning crews – Duncan Williams and Guy Weaver plus Neil Williams and Anthony O’Sullivan – have both entered December’s curtain raiser. Several other potential title contenders are heading to Killarney including Michael McDaid, Ray Breen, and Trevor Wilson.

Regular ITRC frontrunner, Jonathan Greer, tops the Killarney Historic Rally entry hoping to defend his victory from 12 months ago aboard his four-wheel-drive Ford Sierra.

Local hero Alan Ring is seeded second in another four-wheel-drive car – his sweet-sounding Subaru Legacy.

Eamonn and Donagh Kelly complete a magnificent top five in a Ford Escort RS1800 and BMW M3 respectively.

Mark Falvey, Denis Moynihan, and Tomas Davies add further interest inside Killarney’s top ten starters.

Eight stages, including a night-time finale, will decide who starts Sherwood Engines Historic ITRC with early bragging rights. Dromin, Caragh Lake, Shannera, and Rockfield will all be tackled twice offering a challenging opening round on the 2nd December.

Colman Hegarty, TROA chairman:

“The Killarney Historic Rally kicks off the 2024 Sherwood Engines Historic Irish Tarmac Rally Championship. The category is set to be keenly contested throughout the entire season and Killarney is a fantastic curtain raiser for it.

“I would like to take the opportunity to wish everybody involved in the championship, all our registered crews, and all the individual rallies a safe and enjoyable season of rallying.

“Have a fun and safe weekend in Killarney everyone.”

Killarney Historic Rally Entry List (Top 10)

1 Jonathan Greer / Niall Burns (Ford Sierra)
2 Alan Ring / Adrian Deasy (Subaru Legacy)

3 Neil Williams / Anthony O’Sullivan (Ford Escort RS1800)
4 Eamonn Kelly / Conor Mohan (Escort RS1800)

5 Donagh Kelly / Rory Kennedy (BMW M3)
6 Duncan Williams / Guy Weaver (Escort RS1800)

7 Mark Falvey / James O’Brien (Escort RS1600)
8 Michael McDaid / Declan Casey (Escort RS1800)

9 Denis Moynihan / Martin O’Brien (Escort RS1600)
10 Tomas Davies / Eurig Davies (Escort RS1800)

Photo by Roger Dawson