Sam Moffett leads the Irish Tarmac Rally Championship after 3 rounds

Following the Circuit of Ireland Rally this past weekend, Sam Moffett provisionally leads the Clonakilty Blackpudding Irish Tarmac Rally Championship after three rounds on 40 points. Sam’s fourth place finish on the International section of the rally was enough to move him ahead of Donagh Kelly who didn’t start the event and who remains on 32 points. Josh Moffetts third overall was enough to give him maximum points and move him into third in the championship on 31 points. There was disappointment for Jonny Greer who was forced to retire just before the finish which would have given him a strong fourth in the championship.

The Group N battle is still hotly contested as Brendan Cumiskey reversed previous results by edging out Aaron McHale with the latter’s lead in the category cut to just two points. Tommy Doyle had an excellent first international result in his Skoda Fabia while Rob Duggan once again showed his enormous potential by coming home a tremendous fourth overall in the national section of the rally in his Ford Fiesta. The event was yet another disappointment for the 2014 Tarmac Champions, Declan & Brian Boyle as their troubled season continued with a blown engine on stage 10.

Frank Kelly took maximum points in the Modified Championship which lifts him into joint third in the series alongside, Ross Hunter. Declan Gallagher & Mark Nangle are still the leading duo despite not competing on the Circuit. The Historic Championship saw Gareth Lloyd extend his lead as closest rivals Denis Moynihan (non started) and Ernie Graham (retired), failed to score. Stanley Orr made his first championship appearance and took and impressive maximum points, while Andy Johnson also got his first points of the season by finishing second in the category.

Full points and standings will be available in the coming days on Photo courtesy of Fergus McAnallen (Rallyretro).


Kevin O’Driscoll,

T.R.O.A. Press & Media Officer,


Phone: +353 86 2866 256