Cronin & Galvin are 2016 Irish Tarmac Champions

Keith Cronin & Mikie Galvin in a Citroen DS3 R5 are the Clonakilty Blackpudding Irish Tarmac Champions for 2016 following their fourth place overall on the AceSigns Cork 20 International Rally. Despite leading overnight they soon dropped back to second behind a hard charging Josh Moffett and everything was still very much in control. However a Stage 12 puncture dropped them to fourth and it was a tense last couple of stages as Jonny Greer closed in to just a few seconds, where any subsequent drop in place would have damaged his title chances. Eventually fourth was enough to secure their first tarmac championship title.


Josh Moffett & Jason McKenna made history by winning their first ever tarmac championship round and also by taking the first victory for an R5 car on an international rally in the Republic of Ireland. Sam Moffett & Karl Atkinson finished in second overall just ahead of Roy White & James O’Brien with the eventual top three only separated by 6.3 seconds. Callum Devine & Keith Moriarty were the winners of the International 2WD category while Ross Marshall & Dave Robson took the Modified Championship after edging out Davy Armstrong & Martin McGarrity. The Junior Championship was won by Kevin & Shane Horgan in their Honda Civic ahead of Justin Ryan & Stephen Monaghan both crews in Honda Civics.


Provisional Championship Top 5 Overall  


1 – Keith Cronin 78
2 – Sam Moffett 75

3 – Josh Moffett 74

4 – Alastair Fisher 70

5 – Jonny Greer 60